As reported by the Connecticut Post, January 19, 2009.

Council Names Innovation Finalists

HARTFORD — The Connecticut Technology Council recently named the finalists in eight categories for its fifth Women of Innovation awards. The council will announce the winners on Jan. 29.

Academic Innovation and Leadership: Patricia Compagnone-Post, associate professor of biology, Albertus Magnus College; Amy Howell, professor, University of Connecticut Department of Chemistry; Liisa Kuhn, assistant professor, Department of Reconstructive Sciences, University of Connecticut Health Center; Jani Pallis, associate professor, University of Bridgeport; Sarah Raskin, associate professor, Trinity College; and Kyle Vanderlick, Thomas E. Golden, Jr. Professor and Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science, Yale University.

Collegian Innovation and Leadership: Laura Baker of East Haddam, student, Central Connecticut State University; Zoe Cournia, postdoctoral fellow, Yale University; Emily Neumann of Litchfield, student, University of Connecticut; Merry Smith, student, Trinity College; and Subrina Thompson, graduate student, University of Bridgeport.

Community Innovation and Leadership: Diane Curtis, academic developer and evangelist, Microsoft, Farmington; Susan Masino, associate professor, Trinity College; and Joy Wulke, founder and creative director, Projects for a New Millenium, Branford.

Entrepreneurial Innovation and Leadership: Jennifer Hanson, CEO, Realsight LLC, Darien; Bala Krishnamurthy, CEO, Aeolean Inc., Ridgefield; Teresa Piliouras, president, Albright Associates Inc., Weston; Rekha Shertukde, president, Diagnostic Devices Inc., Simsbury; Alice Turner Thompson, owner, URISE Inc., Manchester; Leonora Valvo, CEO, The Global Executive, Ridgefield; and Li Zhao, CEO/president, Fabric Trends International LLC, Plainfield.

Large Business Innovation and Leadership: Nancy Beckwith, manager of supplier quality, Electric Boat Corp., Groton; Robin Bray, pilot, flight operations, United Technologies Corp., Hartford; Donna Cyr, director of technology licensing, University of Connecticut, Farmington; Diane Drew, manager, thermo/aerodynamics, UTC/Hamilton Sundstrand, Windsor Locks; Julia Hutchinson, manager, engine center cost reduction group, UTC/Pratt & Whitney, Middletown; Patricia Lombardo, engineering specialist, Electric Boat Corp., Groton; Pamela Mackenzie, area vice president, Hartford/Springfield, Comcast Corp., Enfield; Georgia Papathomas, senior vice president and CIO, Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Ridgefield; Theodora Saunders, manager, system engineering process group, UTC/Sikorsky Aircraft, Hamden; Jodi Vecchiarelli, acting director of physical sciences, United Technologies Research Center, East Hartford; Nancy Williams, IT director, GE Capital-CFS, Norwalk; and Yuling Wu, director of computer science and physical science, advanced concepts and technology, Pitney Bowes, Shelton.

Research Innovation and Leadership: Jun-Hong Cui, associate professor, computer science and engineering, University of Connecticut; Mingjun Huang, senior director of virology, Achillion Pharmaceuticals, New Haven; Danielle Merrick, senior engineer, Electric Boat Corp., Groton; Lynne Regan, professor, Yale University; Barbara Sahagan, research fellow, Pfizer Inc., Groton; June Watzl, scientist, MRI human brain research, Yale School of Medicine; and Susanne Yelin, associate professor of physics, University of Connecticut.

Small Business Innovation and Leadership: Sally Cohn, executive vice president, client services, RecoveryPlanner.com Inc., Shelton; Betsy Didan, assistant vice president, document processing, COCC, Avon; Heidi Douglas, president and CEO, MysticMD, Groton; Margaret O'Hara, group vice president, products, IVANS Inc., Stamford; Deborah Santy, program director, The Connecticut Small Business Innovation Research office, East Hartford; and Jean Stimolo, executive director, Rideworks, Connecticut Department of Transportation, New Haven.

Youth Innovation and Leadership: Brenda Lisitano, student, Greater Hartford Academy of Math and Science; Oluwadamilola Oni-Orisan, student, Greater Hartford Academy of Math and Science; Sanjay Patel, student, Greater Hartford Academy of Math and Science; Priya Ranade, student, East Lyme High School; Fiona Wood, student, North Haven High School; and Chelsea Yalen, student, Greater Hartford Academy of Math and Science.