Bookmark and Share RSS IconRSS

Feature Stories by Date

Feature Story

Health Center Today, March 4, 2010

School of Dental Medicine 2010 Research Awards

By Carolyn Pennington

Photo of Joel Monteiro and Jennifer Merry

DENTSPLY representative, Joel Monteiro with second year dental student Jennifer Merry. Merry is the winner of the ADA/DENTSPLY Student Clinician Award.

Dean's Award

Dr. Monty MacNeil
Student: Roberta Kelm

Awarded in recognition of an outstanding presentation demonstrating clinical application and technique relating to dentistry. The award consists of an expense-paid trip as the School of Dental Medicine representative to the Hinman Student Research Symposium, and the studentís name engraved on a plaque.

ADA/DENTSPLY Student Clinician Award

Joel Monteiro, DENTSPLY North America
Student: Jennifer Merry

Awarded in recognition of an outstanding presentation. It includes a round trip coach fare to the annual session of the American Dental Association as the school representative, allowance for lodging, food and other expenses, and ADA/DENTSPLY plaque.

Gustave Perl Memorial Award

Dr. Art Hand
Student: Dane Fletcher

A monetary award of $100, for outstanding original research, and the studentís name engraved on a plaque.

UConn School of Dental Medicine Society of Alumni & Friends

Dr. Art Hand
Student: Jennifer Zysk

A monetary award of $150, for original research having a direct application to dental practice, and the studentís name engraved on a plaque.

Research Excellence Award (Sponsored by Johnson & Johnson)

Janet Finkle
Student: Timothy Perez

Awarded in recognition of an outstanding research project relating to the field of periodontology. This award consists of an engraved plaque to be displayed at UConn, a small plaque for the recipient, and a $150 Health Center Bookstore gift card.

Photo of Janet Finkle and Timothy Perez

Janet Finkle, Johnson & Johnson Healthcare products representative and second year dental student Timothy Perez. Perez is the winner of the Research Excellence Award.

Dental Student Research Society

Dr. Art Hand
Student: Nicole Strobel

A monetary award of $100, for excellence of science presentation by an undergraduate student.

Omicron Kappa Upsilon Awards

Dr. Alan Lurie, President
In recognition of excellence in the art, science, and literature of dentistry, Omicron Kappa Upsilon, the national dental honor society, presents $25 gift certificates to the Health Center Bookstore to all students who have participated in Research Day activities.