News Release

October 6, 2009

Contact: Chris DeFrancesco, 860-679-3914

UConn Dental School Faculty Appointed to National Board

Dr. Anna Dongari-Bagtzoglou on National Advisory Dental and Craniofacial Research Council

FARMINGTON, CONN. – Dr. Anna Dongari-Bagtzoglou, chair of the University of Connecticut School of Dental Medicine Division of Periodontology, has been appointed to the National Advisory Dental and Craniofacial Research Council.

The council advises, consults with and makes recommendations to the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, and conducts secondary reviews of research grant and cooperative agreement applications and training grant applications. Dongari-Bagtzoglou is one of 13 voting members appointed by Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius. Voting members are selected nationally from among the leaders of the health and scientific disciplines relevant to the NIDCR’s activities. Dongari-Bagtzoglou is representing the oral infectious diseases discipline.

"This is an opportunity for me to contribute to new public health funding initiatives supported by NIDCR and try to promote oral infectious diseases in the NIDCR funding agenda," Dongari-Bagtzoglou says. "It also gives the opportunity to our school to be represented in a high-impact, high-profile committee that helps shape the future of federally-funded research."

Caption: Dr. Anna Dongari-Bagtzoglou.

UConn Health includes the schools of medicine and dental medicine, the UConn Medical Group, University Dentists, and John Dempsey Hospital. Home to Bioscience Connecticut, UConn Health pursues a mission of providing outstanding health care education in an environment of exemplary patient care, research and public service. More information about UConn Health is available at

Note: News professionals are invited to visit the UConn Health Today news page ( for regularly updated news and feature stories, photos and media stories. News releases are archived at UConn Health news and information is also available on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.